Week 6: Dear Melanie Mock

Dear Melanie Mock,

I found your article interesting to read. You seem like you have somewhat of a progressive type of view and seem to have blindly fallen into a false ideal of separation of church and state; and being a Christian, you of all people should know the true meaning of that amendment and what it truly states. That is the biggest issue with me in your argument. We were founded as a Christian nation and have traditionally celebrated Christmas, and if someone is offended by that, that is their own issue. If someone doesn’t like a law, that is just frankly too bad. Our government and its Constitution was founded on Christian principles and on Christian values. Our founding fathers’ original intent of separation of church and state was to keep the government out of the church; it was never about keeping the church out of the state.

“The focus of every Christian should on the real manger, rather than on whether Nativities should appear in the public square, pressed up next to Santa and the elves” (Mock 10). According to this quote from your article, you are clearly stating that having Nativities in the public square detracts our focus from what Christians should really focus on. But please tell me, how does this detract your focus from Christ? How does a Nativity Scene, which is about Jesus Christ, detract your focus from Jesus Christ? That is simply illogical in my opinion.

I’m sorry I cannot say I enjoyed your article because I disagree with all of your points. Additionally, I believe that your expressed beliefs are apart of why American culture has become so degraded. However, your rights to express your opinion is exactly what our first amendment is about, and that I do agree with.

Sincerely,

Tabi Dienhart

Word Count: 301

Week 6: Dear Melanie Mock

Leave a comment